The political mind: why you can't understand 21st-century politics with an 18th-century brain

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
The New York Times-bestselling author of Don't Think of an Elephant explains the science behind how we make political decisions.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
ISBN:
9780670019274
9781400128099
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 4c7a247c-7117-28ef-2712-26db47b16247
Grouping Title political mind why you can t understand 2first century politics with an 1eighth century brain
Grouping Author lakoff george
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-04-15 03:55:47AM
Last Indexed 2019-04-18 04:27:22AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Cassella, Kent.
author Lakoff, George.
author2-role Cassella, Kent., hoopla digital.
author_display Lakoff, George
available_at_loveland Loveland Public Library
detailed_location_loveland Longmont Adult Nonfiction, Louisville Adult NonFiction, Loveland Adult Nonfiction, Online Hoopla Collection
display_description In What's the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain-and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another-or building a whole new narrative altogether-can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body-it's the same thing.But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.
format_category_loveland Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_loveland Book, eAudiobook
id 4c7a247c-7117-28ef-2712-26db47b16247
isbn 9780670019274, 9781400128099
item_details hoopla:MWT10755550||Online Hoopla Collection|Online Hoopla|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|Hoopla||https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755550||Available Online||||, ils:.b17346113|.i21792124|Louisville Adult NonFiction|320.01 LAK|||1|false|false|||||Due May 5, 2019|Oct 09, 2018|lsnfa||, ils:.b17346113|.i31781457|Longmont Adult Nonfiction|320.01 LAK|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Feb 12, 2018|lgnfa||, ils:.b17346113|.i40715188|Loveland Adult Nonfiction|320.01 Lakoff, G.|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf|Nov 13, 2018|lvnfa||
itype_loveland , hardcover book
last_indexed 2019-04-18T10:27:22.127Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_loveland 320.01 Lakoff, G.
owning_library_loveland Loveland Public Library
owning_location_loveland Loveland Public Library
primary_isbn 9780670019274
publishDate 2008
record_details hoopla:MWT10755550|eAudiobook|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Tantor Audio ,|2008.|1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 30 min.)) : digital., ils:.b17346113|Book|Books||English|Viking,|c2008.|x. 292 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_loveland
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT10755550 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
ils:.b17346113 .i21792124 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false 128, 129, 3, 131, 132, 133, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 35, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b17346113 .i31781457 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false 128, 1, 129, 2, 3, 131, 4, 132, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 111, 112, 114, 115, 116, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
ils:.b17346113 .i40715188 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true 128, 129, 1, 130, 2, 3, 131, 4, 5, 133, 6, 7, 135, 8, 136, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 45, 46, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 80, 81, 82, 84, 85, 86, 92, 93, 95, 96, 97, 98, 99, 100, 105, 106, 108, 109, 110, 115, 117, 118, 119, 125, 126, 127
subject_facet Communication in politics -- United States, Conservatism -- United States, Liberalism -- United States, Political culture -- United States, Progressivism (United States politics), Thought and thinking
title_display The political mind : why you can't understand 21st-century politics with an 18th-century brain
title_full The political mind : why you can't understand 21st-century politics with an 18th-century brain / George Lakoff, The political mind : why you can't understand 21st-century politics with an 18th-century brain [electronic resource] / George Lakoff
title_short The political mind :
title_sub why you can't understand 21st-century politics with an 18th-century brain
topic_facet Communication in politics, Conservatism, Liberalism, Political culture, Progressivism (United States politics), Thought and thinking